Many times practices are using multiple methods to communicate with their patients. As such, we at FollowApp do not want you to be forced to send communications through our platform that you feel are unnecessary. Thus, we've now implemented a way for you to control which messages get sent out by using an on/off toggle, and what is contained in those messages (for Pre-Visit and Feedback type messages)

Controlling Message Behaviour - On/Off Toggle

Step-by-step guide:

  • First, you'll want to navigate to the Content tab by using the left-hand side navigation bar

  • From here, you'll see a list of Treatment Categories on the left side, which are the sets of messages that your patients will receive depending on the type of treatment they receive. For users with COVID Safety Protocol subscription, you will see only 1 Treatment Category.

  • Click on a Treatment Category plan to see the individual messages that it comprises.

  • You'll notice there is a toggle to the right of the name of each Treatment Category - if this is selected to OFF (toggle is in the left position), the messages in this Treatment Category will no longer be sent for any new visits created.

  • Next, you'll see the same toggle beside each of the individual messages. Selecting the toggle in the OFF position, that message will no longer be sent out for any new visits created.

  • You'll know when a message is set to OFF because it will appear greyed-out, meaning that it will no longer be sent as a part of that Treatment Category.

  • To turn an individual message, or Treatment Category back on, simply click the toggle again to set in the ON position (right hand position - you'll notice the content is no longer greyed-out)

Editing Pre-Visit and Feedback Message SMS Content

Step-by-step guide:

  • First, you'll want to navigate to the Content tab by using the left-hand side navigation bar

  • From here, you'll see a list of Treatment Categories on the left side, which are the sets of messages that your patients will receive depending on the type of treatment they receive. For users with COVID Safety Protocol subscription, you will see only 1 Treatment Category.

  • To edit the SMS content for a message, click the 'Edit' button which is found on the right-hand side of the screen. **Note: you'll only find the 'Edit' button on Pre-Visit and Feedback type messages.

  • Clicking this will enable the editing of: Message Send Time (the time at which a message is sent on a given day), SMS Content (the contents of the sms messages your patients will receive), and Email Subject (the subject line for the message's email template).

  • You are free to type in any text you would like into the SMS content block, and you can insert links to any relevant webpages which may be useful for your patients to read before or after their appointment.

  • You'll notice there is some text for "{{PATIENT_FIRSTNAME}}", which tells the system to input a patient's first name into the SMS content upon send-out. This is to give the SMS a more personalised feel.

  • Similarly, the "{{SURVEY_URL}}" text inserts the survey for that day into the SMS message. To view the questions in that survey, simply scroll down to the 'Link / Attachment' section. Here you'll see all the questions for that survey, as well as the associated type of response allowed.

  • '{{ORG_NAME}}' will include the name of your practice, so that patients know who this message is coming from.

  • **NOTE**: There is a character counter located underneath the SMS content field. This allows you to identify the number of characters, and as a result, the number of SMS segments this message will require. Each segment has a maximum of 160 characters, therefore, if your message contains 161+ characters, you will be billed for 2 segments, and so on.

Did this answer your question?